Steering Committee

Pia Rattenhuber

Pia Rattenhuber is a Research Fellow at UNU-WIDER. She has previously worked for OECD (Department of Labour and Social Affairs), the German Ministry of Economics and the German Institute of Economic Research (DIW Berlin). She attained her PhD from Free University Berlin. Her works focuses on social protection systems, taxation and tax-benefit microsimulation models.

Francisco H. G. Ferreira

Francisco H. G. Ferreira is the Amartya Sen Professor of Inequality Studies at the London School of Economics, where he is also Director of the International Inequalities Institute. Francisco is an economist working on the measurement, causes and consequences of inequality and poverty in developing countries, with a special focus on Latin America. His work has been published widely and been awarded various prizes, including the Richard Stone Prize in Applied Econometrics and the Kendrick Prize from the International Association for Research in Income and Wealth.

Salvador Barrios

Salvador Barrios is Head of the Fiscal Policy Analysis team of the Joint Research Centre, European Commission. He received his doctorate from Sciences-Po Paris. His research focuses on public finances, taxation and growth.

Salvador previously worked as Fiscal Policy Analyst at the Directorate General for Economic and Financial Affairs of the European Commission. Before joining the European Commission Salvador held teaching and research positions in several universities in the UK, Spain, Ireland and Belgium.

Joana Silva

Joana Silva is an Associate Professor at Católica Lisbon School of Business & Economics, a Senior Research Economist at the World Bank and a CEPR Research Fellow. Her research has been published at American Economic Review, Journal of International Economics, Economics Letters and Review of World Economics. Her main research interests are Applied Economics, International Economics, Development Economics, Labor Economics and Public Economics. She has a Ph.D. in Economics from the University of Nottingham.